UMEC Forum Index UMEC
United Mining Exploration Commission: A group of friends playing JumpGate-- "a MMORPG that launched smoothly, breaks from fantasy character setting, emphasizes PvP, and is the first persistent world space simulator that nobody talks about." ~Scorch

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tesrend's n00b tips (re: politics and stuff)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
MajorFreak

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2002 2:07 pm    Post subject: Tesrend's n00b tips (re: politics and stuff) Reply with quote

Quote:
Zendo wrote:
Hello Jumpgate vets

I'm brand new to the game, and have decided to try the game out after years of EQ, AC, DAOC style games..... etc

I have been doing the trial on the EU servers for free and have been getting a feel for the game mechanics. I was just wondering what the US servers are like? I'm from the US and plan to buy the box from amazon.com soon.

What are the politics like? Is life hard for a newbie? What motivates the PvP? Is it mostly faction based wars?

I heard you could switch factions? this seems very bizzard to me, why would they let you do this??

And I heard squads could be made up of people from different factions? This too confuses me.

I'm getting the hang of the control, but still have a rough time docking due to drifting to the side while i try to go forward, even with the brakes, i have a real hard time stoping lateral movement when i go forward. Are there any side jets that will make stablize? Also, can you invert the mouse so its like a real simulator ( down is up, up is down, etc)?

I have read through some of the FAQ's and am very intrigued and still learning alot. My main lack of knowldge is what goes on after one gets established as a pilot. Is it toal chaos and killing? Or are you tied closely to your faction for support and defense?